Arthur’s Seat VK3/VC-031

I’ve driven up Arthur’s Seat a few times, run up it more than a few times, and driven past it even more often. Still hadn’t got around to activating the thing…

I rarely take part in the VHF field days as a proper contestant, but I often use it to test out my 23cm station. I’m also keen to reward those who put the effort in and head out with decent stations. If I remember, I usually try to give out a few contacts, mostly on the higher bands.

Arthur’s Seat has a good takeoff to the south, west, and north depending on where you set up so, despite the trees, is not a bad place for UHF/Microwave work. Especially nice are the numerous picnic tables.

I was headed down the peninsula to meet up with some other members of our astronomical society and had just enough time to squeeze a single band activation in on 23cm.

The easy and smart way to do 23cm is to liaise on a lower band to establish beam headings, but there is a particular joy in getting random QSOs on this band. My 10el Yagi has a very broad beamwidth anyway.

Because I had no intention on entering the contest, I put a spot up on sotawatch. About 10 minutes of calling later I was rewarded with a QSO with Andy VK3VKT, followed by VK3ER/P in/near the wombat state forest, and VK3BCU. No regular SOTA chasers, likely due to the hour and lack of alert. I could have qualified the summit in 30 seconds if I put the 2m rubber ducky on the 817, but I would have been there for another half an hour working the hordes… the weather was pretty miserable with a freezing southerly wind.

Not successfully qualified, but 3 more 23cm contacts, summit activated, and an Andrew 2 Andrew. What’s not to like? Longest was 113km with VK3ER/P.

Only 15 minutes or so late for the meeting.

Leave a Reply

